Of Mudpies and Movie Makeup

ChildhoodBlog Challenge Day 4: What Is Your Favorite Childhood Memory?

I spent a lot of time thinking about this challenge. What is my favorite childhood memory? Oddly enough, when I tried to recall slumber parties or playdates or beloved school friends, I came up blank. Sure, I can name my closest friends from elementary school but would I say they embody my favorite childhood memories? Not so much.

When I reminisce on my happiest moments as a child, I always go back to my sister. I can honestly call my sister one of my best friends, and I think she’s the only person in the world who will never surprise me or disappoint me or fail to support me. That’s not to say that we don’t fight, or that I think she’s predictable- quite the opposite, really. I never know what she’s going to do next, but I’m also never taken aback by her choices. I’m always proud of her and I’ve always got her back.

Our relationship hasn’t always been so solid, there were horrible fights and we both walked away with bruises and scrapes (I even got a black eye once for waking her up too early). But there were also the days when we tried gardening and made mud pies instead, or the nights that she played makeup mannequin and barely grimaced when my attempts turned out horrendous, or the time the creepy boy on the bus wouldn’t stop harassing me so she “took care of it” by playing the Big Bad High Schooler and scared the hell out of him.

This challenge asked me to pick my favorite childhood memory but it would be impossible to choose just one.  As cheesy as it sounds, growing up with my big sister was the best part of my childhood, and I’m really lucky to have her in my life.

Eureka Springs

Leave a Reply

