Completely and Perfectly and Incandescently Happy

Pride and Prejudice

Blog Challenge Day 5: Favorite Movies You Never Get Sick of Watching

Truly, there’s only one movie that accurately fits into this category. I suppose most people have at least a handful of films that they can watch again and again and again, but I do not. And maybe that’s because I’m just not so much a movie person,  I’d rather turn on a mind numbing TV show or read a book than watch a movie, most times. But yes, there is one movie which I have seen literally hundreds of times.  After the first view in theaters, I counted down the days til it came out on DVD and when it did, I watched it every day (sometimes multiple times a day) for months. I fell asleep to it most nights and I quoted it constantly and it’s my go-to choice when I need to be comforted like after I finished Allegiant and I wanted to stop crying. This movie is my safety blanket, I turn it on and the rest of the world fades into the background for a couple of hours — every single time.  It doesn’t hurt that my best friend, B, loves this movie as much as I do. It’s possible we have the exact same conversations every time we watch the movie together, but like Darcy’s first disastrous proposal, the discussions never get old.

I’ve already discussed how very much I love Pride and Prejudice, and really Jane Austen, but specifically that story. It’s a wonderful story and in the 2005 version, Joe Wright does a spectacular job adapting it into a relatable major motion picture. His casting was brilliant, Keira Knightley, aside from being skinny as a stick, is a perfectly relatable Elizabeth Bennet.  As for Matthew Macfayden, aside from perfectly capturing Darcy’s conflict, I could listen to him speak all day – his voice is like velvet.

And to back me up on how wonderful this story is, even Sheldon Cooper of The Big Bang Theory agrees with me.

Any questions?

5 comments

  1. atempleton · October 27, 2013

    I agree. It’s a great movie that can be watched over and over again.

  2. atempleton · October 28, 2013

    I also enjoy listening to Joe Wright’s director commentary on the DVD. How every little detail was thought out. And thanks for following me,

    • Laura · October 30, 2013

      Of course! And I, surprisingly enough, haven’t listened to the commentary yet but having seen some of Joe Wright’s other movies (Anna Karenina and Atonement) it’s very obvious how much thought he puts into each scene and every shot. I think it would be very interesting to get inside his head for a day- to see the world the way he does.

  3. Pam Bickell · November 3, 2013

    I love it, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

