Separation Anxiety

Blog Challenge Day 11: Something That You Miss

This post is startlingly easy. While I will never say that I miss High School – the busy work, the restrictions, the twenty minutes you get for lunch by the time you’ve worked your way through the lines and the “going to class every single day” thing — I miss living in the same city as my best friend. I miss seeing her everyday; I miss catching up with her during fourth period, as if I hadn’t just seen her during first period four hours earlier.

I feel outrageously lucky that our friendship hasn’t truly suffered despite the distance between us now or the new friends we’ve made outside of our group from high school. She’s as irreplaceable in my life as my sister, and while our dynamic has changed, we still have the ability to understand each other with a single look or a gesture or phrase. And I’m so grateful for that.

But still, it’s easy to look back on our swim team years, the orchestra trips, the classes we took together and miss how simple and easy our lives were back then.

4 comments

  1. Courtney Barr · November 6, 2013

    I miss the simplicity of the times. I thought those were the most stressful years of my life while I was living them but not I realize how relaxing and fun childhood/adolescence is.

    • Laura · November 6, 2013

      I absolutely agree. It’s like Andy Bernard says, “I wish there was a way to know you’re in the good old days before the good old days are gone.”

      • Courtney Barr · November 6, 2013

        That part of the office [may have] made me cry!

      • Laura · November 6, 2013

        It’s okay, Courtney. We both know that it did.

Leave a Reply

